Home / People


This section presents IWGSC members who contribute by their involvement, work, leadership and achievements to the IWGSC vision.

Leader Spotlight

This section highlights individuals who are leading projects or initiatives within IWGSC.

Latest Leader Spotlight:

Rudi Appels

Published: 10/26/2021 11:24 pm

An interview of Rudi Appels by Stephen Baenziger

Sponsor Highlight

This section features sponsors of the IWGSC and their representatives who contribute to the achievement of the IWGSC vision.

Latest Sponsor Highlight:


Published: 11/16/2021 08:18 pm

RAGT has supported the IWGSC since 2009. We are very grateful for their continuous support and are pleased to count this farmer-founded, innovative seed company as our sponsor. RAGT has been a strong voice for breeders within the IWGSC and for ensuring that the genomic resources we develop are immediately translatable to wheat breeding programs. It has been very important for the IWGSC to have companies, such as RAGT, involved in designing our goals, objectives, and strategies.

Early Career Award

Since 2007, the IWGSC has included an early career speaker in all of its sponsored workshops. The goal is to engage young and early career scientists in wheat genomics broadly and in the IWGSC specifically.

Since its inception, 23 early career scientists have been selected and have benefited from the opportunity to present their work to a large audience in an international scientific meeting.

In 2021, the award was renamed the "IWGSC and Catherine Feuillet Early Career Award"

Latest Early Carrer Awardee:

Ellie Taagen

Published: 11/01/2021 09:47 pm

Ellie Taagen was awarded the IWGSC and Catherine Feuillet Early Career Award and will receive her award at the Plant & Animal Genome Conference XXIX (PAG) in San Diego, California (USA) in January 2022.

Ellie also received a travel stipend to allowed her to travel to the PAG conference to present a talk during the IWGSC main workshop on Saturday 8 January 2022.

Leadership Award

In 2013, the IWGSC leadership established the IWGSC Leadership Award. This award is given to recognize significant achievements, including major scientific milestones, that would not have been accomplished were it not for the demonstration of outstanding leadership and commitment to the overall objective by an individual or a group.

Latest Leadership Awardees:

Vijay Tiwari

Published: 01/30/2020 05:25 pm

In January 2020, Vijay Tiwari was awarded an IWGSC Outstanding Leadership Award in recognition and appreciation of his leadership in wheat RH mapping that contributed to the high quality reference sequence of the bread wheat genome, IWGSC RefSeq v1.0.